Things I’ve Learned (Twenty Seven)

Allegro.goodbye.6.15.2020
We say goodbye to our Tiffin Allegro RED

It has been a very busy couple of months for us as we prepared for the next adventure in our lives. Big changes have consumed our time and a lot of our money, but as I sit here looking back, I just wanted to share a few things I’ve learned with all of you.

We started RV life in 2011 as part timers in a Class C after meeting each other in October of 2010. We learned a lot about each other and shared our dreams, ideas and a very small space while on the road. We had a beautiful home on over two and a half acres in the country. We both worked hard and spent a great deal of time in the yard, which left little time to enjoy RVing. We were married in 2012 and became snowbirds in 2013, upgrading to a roomier, slightly bigger Class C. I became semi-retired (which meant, 5-6 months in Key West and working 6-7 months seasonally upon returning to Ohio.) Because my hubby is a retired Veteran and was landscaping seasonally, this was an easy transition for him because he didn’t have to work during the winter. During those years, life was a roller coaster of packing, preparing, living on the road, unpacking, and then redirecting to a sticks & bricks life with a job and all the responsibilities of “normal” life. All the while, the RV sat in the driveway waiting for us to get on the road again. We desired to be on the road more and live the “normal” life less and progressed to full timers June 1st, 2017. We bought the beautiful Class A Tiffin Allegro RED pictured above to live in 24/7, 365. Just shy of 10 years experience with RV life on the road and trying to keep enough money for our retirement house (which was always a part of our long-term plan), and we are done. Enough stress, enough debating, enough of the “what ifs” and “where to go.” We now have a small retirement home in Florida and The Beast is currently on consignment at an RV Dealership up the road. We are no longer FTers.

If you have kept up with my blog, you will know that I have shared so many things for all those living this dream or hoping to do so in the future. You already know that I have honestly shared the good, and sometimes, with a bit of sarcasm, shared the bad. If you are reading this blog for the first time, please read on to learn some of the things I’ve experienced to help you in possibly making your own decisions.

The number one questions in every RV group I am a member of is; How do you know if this is the right lifestyle for you? How do you downsize your entire life to fit into an RV? What did you do with all of your stuff? Do you have any regrets? The short answers are; You don’t know until you try it. You simply sell or give away almost everything you own until all you have left is a necessity. Nobody wants your stuff, not even your kids. You won’t know if you will regret it until maybe one day in the future, you do. But perhaps you never will. So, what have I learned over nearly 10 years? Far too much to put in one blog, but let me continue with the “Reader’s Digest” version as best as I can.

Life is a constant challenge and that doesn’t change no matter what you live in or where you are, so if you think going FT is going to change this? You have already failed. However, if you love life and deal well with all the challenges that go with it? That is a very good mental place to be starting out.

There’s a lot to see and do out there, but you need deep pockets unless you like to hike and to work. Everything costs money, even if you’re just looking.

It is a cheaper alternative ONLY if you own your RV. It is NOT a cheaper lifestyle. Don’t try to ask what it costs on a monthly basis in groups because everyone will tell you a different story, based on their individual situation. You are trading one set of expenses for another, not eliminating them. But it IS a simpler lifestyle.

Your unborn children and your pets may or may not love the lifestyle as much as you do. Remember that because they can’t answer that question! Also remember that nobody loves your children and pets as much as you do.

It’s very boring after days of rain and being inside an RV. You better have a hobby or love watching TV, or you may need to buy a bigger RV when the next child is due. Seriously, get a hobby because you can’t drive somewhere else every time you get bored.

Don’t ask general questions to RV groups. They don’t have all the answers. Google your route and listen to your gut. Hopefully, you have one. If not, you will live and learn the hard way. Switchbacks are not for newbies that need to ask “the route” question. It’s like skiing; Would you want to ski the steepest mountain if you have never skied before? If so, don’t be wasting experienced skiers time with stupidity. Just do it.

It is easier to buy a luxury coach than to sell one. It doesn’t matter how well you took care of it, it is never exactly what the Buyer wants and there’s a never-ending supply! The people that tell you how quickly they sold theirs didn’t owe the bank a balance and had more room to negotiate. The truth is, you do not make money on coaches. Rarely ever. If you are that one person who did and want to argue this point? You got lucky. They are depreciating no matter what name is on it, just some quicker than others. Ask me why our beautiful Tiffin is sitting on consignment. Never had kids, pets, or smoked in it, and in excellent condition, if you’re interested…

Warranties are very expensive. So are repairs. Your choice. Pay now, or later.

It is important to have general knowledge of maintenance and repairs or I would highly advise the warranty.

If you are the couple that never argues and gets along great, all the time, I applaud you. We used to be that couple too! Space is important. Period. THE END. But nobody died.

I LOVE my new kitchen! It is fairly small, but super efficient. I do NOT need to dig for anything anymore and my back thanks me every time I cook.

Organizational skills are an absolute MUST for FTers. If one of you is messy, living in small quarters will definitely be a huge stumbling block for your spouse/partner.

I also LOVE my own shower and not sharing the scents from each others bathrooms on a daily basis. Our house is less than 1600 SQFT, but a split plan- with bathrooms on opposite ends and it’s wonderful! We had a bath and a half in our Tiffin, but sorry, still not enough space in between for 365 days/year for me.

Traveling in an RV is simply the BEST way to experience travel! Having your own bed and kitchen every day has a whole new meaning during a pandemic. We recently had to travel by car and stay in hotels for a funeral. It reminded me of all the advantages of RVing that brought us to love the lifestyle. No loading in/out of hotel rooms wondering if the sheets were even clean. I lived out of suitcases all during my career days. I don’t miss them.

Fact: Being a passenger in a car flying down the highway causes me zero anxiety compared to being a passenger in a Class A 40′ motorhome.

The friendships you make as you travel will continue no matter what lifestyle you choose! Good people are good people. Also, bad people are everywhere. You can be parked in the middle of nowhere and need I say more…

There is nothing wrong with being a Part Timer. Almost every single Full Timer we ever met over all these years are no longer FT. It’s OK. If you are doing it just because everyone else is? DON’T!

My knees hate the steps. We now live in a ranch. I am still a happy camper!

All the people that constantly remind you that living in an RV versus a house is no different? They are wrong. We have owned our house for over 30 days and nothing has broke!

Choosing where to live in a house is as complicated as choosing where to park the RV for winter. Too many choices, but in the end, your pockets will guide you where to go.

I know people are going to ask if I have any regrets. Some already have. I definitely have some regrets. However, I also feel blessed in so many ways that I will always LOVE the experiences I’ve had and how I pushed myself to keep going strong. I have done things that most people never will. I have seen every state in the US except for Alaska and Hawaii, and that could still happen. Not all were seen in the RV, but most were. I have been on some of the most feared bridges and lived to tell. I have traveled thru the mountains and camped by the sea. I have lived the dream that so many are still only dreaming of. How fortunate that I have learned so much and did not give up, even when nothing was going right. We somehow dealt with everything that life on the road could throw at us. Never let anyone else’s story be yours! Not all Good luck is yours to have. Not all bad luck will ever be yours. Make your own story. It’s your life, the one and only.

Sh’t breaks. In a house, in a car, in an RV. Eliminate one and you still have two things that will break. If you think traveling without a toad (tow car) makes things any easier? You’re wrong. Even if you only have one thing- your RV, it will break and you’ll need a car. Are you going to have them bring it to you in the middle of the desert or on top of the mountain? If so, I want to read your blog.

We almost bought a house last year, but the financial task was easier said than done. We were able to make it happen here in Florida, and I am so happy to be close to many of the places I love and people we enjoy. My biggest advice to anyone contemplating the decision of going FT is this; NO ONE can help you make the decision. Only YOU can decide what is right for YOU. Be sure that you will always have some money set aside for the day you might have to change course, because I am certain you will. BUT, by all means, DO IT if it feels right and DON’T if your doubting everything along the way. In the end, you will have lived your best life!

IMG_20200613_POOL  Our Pool in our new backyard

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Things I’ve Learned (Twenty Seven)

  1. Love reading your life stories. MH is sitting next to my home till Thanksgiving, then FL. Have reservations at Easterlin Park. Wanted to visit my Pearl Rhett this summer and rent a Condo on the water. However, FL is not the state to visit now. Enjoy your new home. ❤️

    Like

  2. I certainly am enjoying our new home and you definitely need to sit tight for now Vernon. Florida will survive and you will return when the time is right. Thanks for following our life adventure and for your friendship ❣️

    Like

Leave a comment